Nice People Networking

Santo Domingo’s Tigres win Dominican winter baseball series

The Tigres of Santo Domingo on Saturday won the Winter Baseball Series 6 to 2 over the Aguilas, at Cibao stadium, in Santiago.

Via his Twitter account, President Danilo Medina congratulated the Licey Tigers for winning the Dominican Baseball League championship against the Aguilas Cibaeñas.  The President wished Licey the best of luck in the Caribbean Series that follows.

He also congratulated the Aguilas from the Cibao on their effort and for being great competitors.
The Tigres del Licey defeated the Aguilas where it hurt the most, in their home stadium, the Estadio Cibao in Santiago. The series went to the maximum nine games and ended on Sunday, 29 January 2017, when Licey defeated the Aguilas, 6-2. Outfielder Emilio Bonifacio sparked Licey’s victory with a bases clearing double in the sixth inning that drove in three runs. Other key players in the game for Licey were Sergio Alcántara who went 4-4 and was drove in two runs.  Licey’s starting pitcher César Valdez, gave the Tigers five strong no-run and only two-hits innings.

President Danilo Medina announced he would receive the winning team at the Presidential Palace on Tuesday, 31 January 2017 in the morning. The capital city champs have now won 22 Dominican Winter Baseball Championships, the most in the country. The team will travel in the afternoon to Mexico to compete in the Caribbean Series from 1-7 February 2017.

Several players from other teams will be joining the Licey in the Caribbean Series. These are Leyry García, Zoilo Almonte, Ronny Rodriguez and Edgar García, and Bryan Evans, Ulises Joaquín and Juan Grullon from the Gigantes, Estrellas and Aguilas Cibaeñas.

The Caribbean Series matches teams from Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Venezuela.

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated January 14, 2018 at 12:43 AM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter