Nice People Networking

Robinson Canó to captain DR team to WBC

Robinson Canó, the second baseman for the Seattle Mariners, famous for leading the team to win the World Baseball Classic in 2013, will be the captain of the Dominican team in the WBC in 2017.

In the 2013 championship, Cano won the tournament’s most valuable player award. José Reyes it the only player to be on all four of the Dominican Republic teams to the World Baseball Classic. Others who will be playing again for the team are Nelson Cruz and Fernando Rodney. Tony Peña is the team management and Moisés Rojas Alou repeats at the head of the team management.

The Dominican Republic will begin to defend its World Baseball Classic title in Miami against Team Canada on 9 March 2017. The first round for the Dominican Republic will be played 9-12 March at Marlin Park in Miami.

The country’s official roster, announced Wednesday on MLB Network, features overall 10 returning players from its 2013 championship team.

With this team roster, the Dominican Republic has a good shot at repeating the championship. On the roster are:
Catchers: Wellington Castillo (BAL), Alberto Rosario (STL)

Pitchers: Johnny Cueto (SF), Carlos Martínez (STL), Wily Peralta (MIL), Edinson Volquez, starting pitchers. Relievers Dellin Betances (NYY), Santiago Casilla (OAK), Alex Colomé (TB), Samuel Deduno, Jumbo Díaz (CIN), Jeurys Familia (NYM), Hector Neris (PHI), Hansel Robles (NYM), Fernando Rodney (ARI), Enny Romero (WSH).

Infielders: Adrián Beltré (TEX), Robinson Canó (SEA), Manny Machado (BL), Hanley Ramírez (BOS), José Reyes (NYM), Carlos Santana (CLE), Jonathan Villar (MIL)

Outfielders: José Bautista (TOR), Nelson Cruz (SEA), Starling Marte PIT), Gregory Polanco (PIT), Mel Rojas Jr. (ATL).

Designated Pitcher Pool if the DR sees the second round: Fernando Abad (BOS), Bartolo Colon (ATL), Edgar Garcia, Ivan Nova (PIT), Alex Reyes (STL), Bryan Rodríguez, Luis Severino (NYY), César Valdez (ARI). Tony Pena repeats as manager.

The WBC Classic was won by Japan in 2006 and 2009, and the Dominican Republic in 2013.

The World Baseball Classic runs from 6-22 March 2017.

Source: DR1

Feb 14, 2017

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated December 17, 2017 at 1:23 AM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter