Nice People Networking

No fishing zones created for Samana

The Ministry of Environment has created six no fishing zones in Samaná. The Ministry also signed two agreements for collaborating on the strengthening of capacities and conservation of natural resources in the northeastern province.

Minister Francisco Domínguez Brito said the no-fishing zones are El Manglar de la Jina, Boca del Río Jabón, Bahía de San Lorenzo-Punta Arena, Naranjo Arriba, Boca de Barracote-Arroyo La Ceja-Caño El Pinito and Boca del Río Yuna-Caño Colorado. In these areas the capture and landing of fish and other marine animals is banned to ensure the sustainability of their work as fishermen.

These areas have been identified as key aggregation areas for fish reproduction by a study carried out in coordination with the Dominican Fishing and Aquaculture Council (Codopesca).

A first agreement was signed with The Nature Conservancy (TNC) for planning and facilitating the implementation of conservation projects, the strengthening of technical capacities, the consolidation of strategies for adaptation to climate change, the reduction of risks from natural phenomenon, the preparation of scientific studies, among others.

A second agreement is a memorandum of understanding committing to establishing a co-management model for the Parque Nacional Manglares del Bajo Yuna.

Source: DR1, Metrord

Aug 31, 2017

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated January 21, 2018 at 12:31 AM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter