Nice People Networking

President Danilo Medina travels to summit in Cuba

President Danilo Medina travels to Cuba today, Friday, 3 June 2016 to attend the Seventh ACS Summit of Heads of State and/or Government. The regional meeting, which takes place tomorrow, Saturday 4 June 2016, will follow up on initiatives for promoting sustainable development in the Greater Caribbean through consultation, cooperation and concerted action. The meeting is being held in Cuba following an invitation made during the ministerial council meeting in Haiti in January 2016.

As reported, “the theme of this year’s summit: ‘Together for a Sustainable Caribbean’ mirrors the hard work, priority and dedication of the Association of Caribbean States in achieving this goal throughout the small island developing states of the Greater Caribbean region. The focal area of this honorable and historical meeting will be the protection and preservation of our common heritage, the Caribbean Sea.

“The ACS continues to work diligently to make this desire tangible, and alongside the Member States and Associate Members, recognize that, in order for such ambitions to materialize, specific and pertinent issues must be of top priority.

“The ACS Caribbean Sea Commission, which was established in 2006 to promote and oversee the sustainable use of the Caribbean Sea, held a symposium called ‘Challenges, Dialogues and Cooperation towards the Sustainability of the Caribbean Sea’ in November 2015, focusing on the main impacts of Sargassum seaweed, lionfish invasion and coastal erosion. The ACS aims, therefore, to continue the dialogue and work as they move towards the horizon of positive and effective change.”

The summit agenda also includes the appointment of a new Secretary General who will head the ACS for the next four years.

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius), and the Turks and Caicos.

Source: DR1, DiarioLibre

June 4, 2016

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated January 21, 2018 at 12:31 AM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter