Nice People Networking

Puerto Plata took the top spots in the final carnival in Santo Domingo

PUERTO PLATA The delegation from Puerto Plata swept the top spots in three different categories in the traditional National Carnival Parade held last Sunday at the George Washington Avenue Santo Domingo.
According to the list of winners of the National Carnival Parade 2015, in the Children Individual categories and Individual Character, the first places were obtained by “The Peacock” and “Queen of the Cayenas”, as in Traditional category the first place was won by “Robalagallina cardboard” of the province of Puerto Plata.
During the selection process, the following categories were taken into account – Creativity People, Historical, Individual Character, Ali Baba, Traditional, Robalagallina, Fantasy, Mask, and Limping Devils.
In the category Individual Character, there were selected “Queen of hibiscus”, Puerto Plata, in the first place; “I am what you see”, Santo Domingo Norte, second palce; and “Duarte”, Santo Domingo Este, third. In category Fantasy there were selected, “The Robalagallina of Bani”, first; “Oriental Dynasty”, Santo Domingo Este, second; and “Invasion Roman gladiators sublimation, National District, Third.
In the category Ali Baba, “My country is mine,” National District won first; “African Spell (Fantasy Taína)”, Santo Domingo Este, second; and “Fusion Guloya” National District Third, while in the Historical category: “Demons of the head,” San Juan de la Maguana, first; “We are Dominicans,” Santiago de los Caballeros, second; and “Africa in Carnival” National District Third.
Also in the category Diablos: “carnival Revelation, Great troupe of Villa Juana, National District, first; “The Silver (Silver Devils), La Vega, second place; and “Tribe Yucahú” Puerto Plata, third.
In the category Creativity Popular: “Lighting our identity, Puerto Plata, first; “The gladiators of the devil” San Juan de la Maguana, second; and “Hawaiian Myths carnival” Monsignor Nouel, third.
Similarly, in the Traditional category: “Robalagallina cardboard”, Puerto Plata, first; “The pintaos of Barahona” Barahona, second; and “The Guloyas” San Pedro de Macoris, third. Mask Category: “Dragon Constance, first; “The traditional Sucker Pepines”, Santiago de los Caballeros, second and “The drums and accordion”, Santiago de los Caballeros, third.
The coordination of the jury was led by folklorist Edis Sanchez, Matthew Diclo Luisa, Carlos Andújar Presinal, Manuel Guillen, Julia Castillo, Marcos Caminero, Julio Encarnacion, Gladys Martinez, Joshua Gomez, Altagracia Fernandez, Bolívar Troncoso, Cruz María Dotel, Manuel Jiménez , Virginia Rock, Francisco Medina, Victor Piña and Victor Avila.
Source: Puerto Plata Digital
March 4, 2015

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated January 21, 2018 at 12:31 AM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter