Nice People Networking

Independence Cycling Tour heads to Punta Cana, Feb 22

Jorge Blas Diaz, president of the Dominican Cycling Federation, the organizer of the Independence Cycling Tour, says that cyclists will race along a 1,154km route that this year focuses on areas that are tourism destinations, with Punta Cana and Samana being added for the first time.

The Independence Cycling Tour is the leading annual cycling tour held in the Caribbean starts on 22 February and ends on 1 March 2015. This year, for the first time, the race will take cyclists all the way east to Punta Cana.

The start is set for 22 February at 12:30pm from Parque Independencia in Santo Domingo. The first stage will take racers to Boca Chica, then to Juan Dolio, the cities of San Pedro de Macoris and La Romana for a distance of 187 km.

The second stage of 184 km departs at 12:30pm from Punta Cana to La Romana, San Pedro de Macoris back to Santo Domingo ending at the Columbus Lighthouse in eastern Santo Domingo.

The third stage departs from the City Government of Santo Domingo headquarters (ADN) at 12:30pm and goes northeast from Santo Domingo to Sanchez and Samana, for 177 km.

The fourth stage leaves Samana to go west to Nagua, Castillo, and ends in San Francisco de Macoris, covering 135.8 km.

The fifth competition stage is a mountain route. It departs from the Palace of Justice in Moca to Santiago, La Vega, Bonao and Constanza, covering 131 km.

The sixth stage is a circuit around the monumental area of Santiago for 104 km.

The seventh stage is from Santiago to Santo Domingo, ending at the Sambil Mall for 151.6 km.

The final eighth stage is a tour along Abraham Lincoln Avenue in Santo Domingo, for a distance of 96 km.

The race can be followed on the webpage of the Cycling Federation at

Source: DR1, Fedoci

February 17, 2015

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated March 25, 2017 at 5:40 PM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter