Nice People Networking

13 provinces on alert for Erika

Santo Domingo.- The Emergency Operations Center (COE) has extended its alert to 13 provinces, nine yellow and four green, as tropical storm Erika approaches the Dominican Republic. The storm’s effects will begin to be felt on Thursday afternoon, say forecasters.

As the storm has picked up strength over the past few hours and is moving at a speed of 85 kph, a storm alert has been issued covering the area from Cabo Engaño in the east to Bahía de Manzanillo in the northwest and from Cabo Engaño to Saona Island in the southeast.

The provinces that will be affected by rainfall and have been placed on yellow alert are La Altagracia, Hato Mayor, El Seibo, Samaná, María Trinidad Sánchez, Monte Cristi, Puerto Plata, Espaillat, La Romana, San Pedro de Macorís, Santo Domingo, San Cristóbal and Monte Plata.

According to weather forecaster Francisco Holguín, Erika will bring 70 and 150 mm of rainfall, mainly in the east and northeast.

At a press conference, the emergency organizations and the National Meteorological Office (Onamet) instructed boat owners to keep their vessels in port. Another measure is a ban on using beaches and practicing water sports on the Atlantic coast, as well as in inland bathing spots and rivers.

The alert also applies to people living in areas near gullies, rivers and streams.

Source: DT

August 27, 2015

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated March 24, 2017 at 2:14 PM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter