Nice People Networking

Dominican Republic excluded from US visa lottery

From Wednesday, 1 October 2014, the United States federal government will open the 2016 Visa Lottery, which is totally free and will hand over 50,000 legal permanent residencies to immigrants via the Visa Diversity Program. However, Dominicans, along with some other nationalities, will not be allowed to take part.

The other countries that have been excluded are Pakistan, Peru, the Philippines, South Korea, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China, Nigeria, United Kingdom (apart from Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam. The reason being that these countries have sent over 50,000 immigrants to the United States over the last five years.

The immigrants who can take part are those who meet the conditions and who have completed the requirements for study or work experience.

The participants will be chosen via an electronic lottery and can only submit one entry each. The deadline for submissions is 3 November.

In 2011, 13.6 million people took part. More than 12 million submissions were received in 2012 and 2013.

Source: DR1, Elnacional

Category: DR News |

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Last updated March 24, 2017 at 12:37 AM
stats for wordpress
View Statistics Report
Facebook Twitter